Homeschool Update

This is a poor and neglected blog. I am sorry for that. I really do want to write more but life has gotten in the way. There is plenty of life to share and talk about, but not enough time to sit and write. So today I will start again.

It has been over a year since I have started homeschooling. I started with my son, who is now in 7th grade. There is so much to report about his progress. I don’t even know where to begin without seeming like a gushy mom. I love this kid sooooo much! He is truly amazing.

A year ago he was a shell of a kid. He was tired from public school. He was bruised and broken. I knew things weren’t always great or easy for him, but hey it’s school and we ALL have to go to school. At home we were always fighting. When I say we were fighting, we would yell and scream and a few doors were slammed. He seemed to hate his siblings and was always complaining about them. I chalked it up to sibling rivalry and those pre-teen hormones. Every kid I knew was looking and acting the typical pre-teen part. My mommy friends and I started bracing ourselves for the dreaded teen years.

That isn’t who he is today. Today is happy and joyful. He is comfortable in his own skin. He has made some amazing friends in our homeschool group and has kept in touch with his friends from public school. We don’t have fights! I mean there are still times when he doesn’t like me, but the slamming doors and screaming have stopped. Nothing warms my heart like seeing him play with his siblings again. The 2 ½ year old is his shadow and it’s not annoying or embarrassing anymore. There are times when the 8 year old girl and him can be found in a serious game of Monopoly with lots of giggles. He now looks you in the eye and wants to have a conversation with you. At church he can often be found sitting at a table with one of the elders, just talking to them. They are so tickled pink that he speaks to them instead of brooding in the corner waiting to go home.

I am not exaggerating, it is the most amazing transformation! Just recently we took him to the eye doctor for a vision check. The last time we visited, his eyes were starting to take a dive. My husband and I both wore glasses by 2nd grade so we have been waiting for our kid’s vision to follow in our footsteps. She was shocked that his vision had returned to NORMAL! She told me that never happens and was a bit perplexed. She started asking me how homeschooling was going. I gushed about how he is a new kid, happy and not stressed. Then her face lit up and she said, “That’s it! He wasn’t losing his vision. It was a stress event that was affecting his vision. You removed the stressed and it went back to normal!” I wanted to cry. I knew it was going well at home, but I didn’t think I could prove it medically.

Now I am sure you want to know how he is doing academically. Today he knows the difference between a subject and predicate (He didn’t know that a year ago). He is writing in complete sentences and he enjoys reading. His favorite subject is history. He has taken on learning Latin and loves it. There are times I find him getting started with school at 6 am without any prompts from me. We often get off on tangents learning new things and loving it. He knows how to budget his time so he can finish his work.

Is he a genius? Is he way above grade level? No, he is right on track with his peers. He enjoys learning and is learning how he learns new information best. He is learning the art of time management. That is what middle school and life is really about. He is discovering himself and learning tools to be successful in life. I am amazed at his progress and feel so blessed to walk alongside him.

So is homeschooling working for us? Yeah, it is!!

One thought on “Homeschool Update

  1. What an inspiring post! I’m so glad to hear that your son is doing much better. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on homeschooling as a Catholic mom, something my aunt is doing now with her kids and which I might consider if I have children someday.

Leave a Reply

