7 Quick Takes

Where do I even begin. What better way to let you know what’s been going on with us than with 7 Quick Takes.

7_quick_takes_sm1

1. We’ve moved!! Yay!! I am exhausted. It has been the craziest month. In less than a month we have packed our house moved across the country and Dylan has started school. The good news is we’re back in CA where all of our friends are and it’s 70 F for most of the year. Goodbye humidity and bug bites.

There is only one word I can use to describe how I feel since coming back to Cali: loved. I feel loved. It is an incredible thing to know that I have people here, a support group, a Church community. It’s not that the people of SC we’re mean, but I was just starting to get to know people and make some friendships. I’m sure if we had stayed longer we would’ve been able to cement some wonderful friendships that were just beginning.

2. We baptized baby Karina. It was a beautiful rite performed during mass. The godparents were Fran and her husband. They travelled all the way to SC only to have us arrive in CA two days after they got back.

DSC_0224_227

3. Before moving we took our first professional family photos. It was a great experience that we truly enjoyed and the pictures are gorgeous. Our photographer was Tim Zielenbach.

SR_20140815_082 SR_20140815_006 SR_20140815_019 SR_20140815_064 SR_20140815_049 SR_20140815_075

4. I have relaunched my food blog Dora’s Table on wordpress.org in hopes of monetizing my blog. It has gotten a full makeover. Stop by for some yummy recipes.

5. My baby sister is getting married Oct 4th. The kids and I are traveling to Mexico for about a week. I’m so happy for her, but why do I feel like she’s being taken away from me? We are looking forward to spending time with family and have the rest of the family meet baby Karina.

6. Last week they announced the location for Edel 2015. They chose Charleston, SC! Hello, don’t Jen Fulwiler and Hallie Lord know I just moved from SC? Oh well, it looks like I will hopefully be returning to Charleston. I love Charleston by the way. It really is a beautiful city with great restaurants.

7. I have become a homeschool convert. Fran started homeschooling a year ago, right after we left to SC. I showed my support as best I could, but I was unsure of whether homeschooling her 12 yr old was going to be the best thing. I had met home schooled kids before and they always seemed weird and a bit awkward. I just assumed it was due to a lack of socialization with other kids.

photo 3

Fran and Lucas during school

Now that we are back, I have been able to spend some time with her now 13 yr old and I was even at her house for a day of homeschooling. He is a completely different kid! He is polite, has a great attitude towards his parents  and those around him, and he is able to handle more responsibility around the house. I’m glad I bit my tongue and let God do his work. Could I ever homeschool? I don’t think so, but never say never.

There is so much going on right now, but it’s all good. We are truly blessed.

Leave a Reply

