The Rising: A novel

With baby girl being only two months old I have not had time to do much, other than breastfeed and try to keep our 4 yr. old from destroying the house. I have, however, had time to read a lot! I recently  read a book that I have to tell you about. It’s called The Rising: A Novel by Robert Ovies.

This is the story of 9 yr. old CJ who has the power to heal and rise people from the dead, his dedicated single mom Lynn, his self-involved father Joe, and their family friend Father Mark. As soon as the family discovers CJ’s power they must face many challenges, and between trying to keep him safe, his dad trying to profit from the situation, and Fr. Mark who cannot seem to grasp what is going on, CJ’s future seems uncertain.

Throughout the book you will find yourself wondering whether you believe in miracles or could believe in them. I don’t want to give too much of the story away, but I will tell you that this book is a thriller, but also a love story that will evoke powerful feelings about being a parent and what we are willing to do for our children.

This is definitely a good read. If you’re interested you can find this book on Amazon. Hopefully my next post will be something other than a book review, but for now,  I have to go back to feeding my little one:)

signature

Leave a Reply

