Baby in NICU: Still Learning to Trust

k1

I don’t even know where to begin. Maybe by telling you how much my heart aches for leaving our little girl in the hospital, or maybe by describing in gory detail what recovering from a c-section is like. Mmmm, how about we start with the joyful news instead, our baby daughter was born 12 days ago! She is beautiful, has a full head of hair, and has the most beautiful smile.

She was born at 33 weeks (7 weeks premature) and weighed 4 lbs. 3 oz. She is currently in the NICU, but she is doing very well. Please pray so we can bring her home soon.

My water broke at 32 weeks, at work, yuk! We immediately went to the hospital and that’s where I’ve been for the last two weeks. They were able to stop labor, but I was put on hospital bed rest so the baby could stay in my belly a little bit longer. On the home front, we have been in survival mode for the last few weeks. My mom flew in from Mexico to help out, my husband has been running himself ragged with home and work, and we had to call anyone and everyone for help with our 4 yr. old munchkin. After one week in the hospital I went into labor, but she was in a breech position, so she had to be delivered by c-section. Our greatest fear was that she wouldn’t be able to breathe on her own, but to our  joy this wasn’t the case!

Through all of this ordeal we have received nothing but support from friends, co-workers, and family. We are truly blessed. I have been asking everyone for prayers and I continue to do so, and we have experienced great peace in our hearts, and I’m confident it’s because of those prayers. I know deep down that, ” in all things God works for the good of those who love Him”(Rom 8:28), and that he is faithful. I’ve also realized how much I need and rely on my husband, we truly have become a team.

Proud big brother

Proud big brother

Through all of this it has never been more clear to me that God really wants me to trust him, and that trust is something I struggle with, but when your baby is in the NICU you have two choices: either you put your trust in God or you fall into despair.  We’ve done a little bit of both.

She’s been in the NICU for 12 days now and I think we’re on the home stretch. We hope to have our little girl home to celebrate the joy of Easter with us! Please keep us in your prayers and I will keep you updated.

signature

 

Leave a Reply

