7 Quick Takes: Still pregnant, online bible courses & confetti eggs

1. I’m still pregnant and the cravings are coming on like crazy. I’m not a dessert person, under normal circumstances I avoid dessert altogether and opt for cheese instead. As a matter of fact, I don’t even really like chocolate! {Gasp} Ironically, with this pregnancy, all I can think about is cake, cookies, chocolate, and anything that has an insane amount of sugar, go figure.

2.  Fran was in NC last weekend and I couldn’t make it up there to see her! She was only 4 hours away, but my munchkin had bronchitis, our schedules didn’t align, and the massive time change from CA to here didn’t help. Those kids, always getting in the way! Gotta love them.

3. I just signed up for a 5 week online course on the Old Testament. I’m working on my catechist certification, but I’m kind of nervous about it. There are days I pass out at 8:30pm after story time, with work, taking care of our 4 yr. old, and managing the household. I don’t know if I can do it. We will see how it goes.

photo 1

4. I will be married 6 years this year. Can you believe how fast time flies? I think I’m more in love now than ever. We have finally matured and grown a bit both emotionally and spiritually. Even after all these years, it’s still the little details that keep our love alive. The men in my life just stopped by my work and dropped off a gift for Valentines! I am so blessed to have them in my life.

photo 2

5. I’m so bummed I won’t be able to attend the Edel Gathering hosted by Jen Fulwiler and Hallie Lord this year.  We have already made travel plans, and the budget does not include a women’s conference. My sister is getting married this year, so we do have that to look forward to. I will be 5 months post-partum by then, so I have no idea how I will fit into a dress. Maybe if I had a personal trainer like celebrities do, I could do it. Last time it took me about 9 months to get back to my regular weight. Can’t we just postpone the wedding? Of course not, silly me.

6. Lent is right around the corner and we are going vegan once again. We’ve been doing this for several years now and it really is an exercise in self control. Does it still count as penance if I’m actually looking forward to it? I’m already a part-time vegan, but when we do it as a family for lent it takes on a different meaning.

img_1656

7. For Easter in our home we don’t do the hardboiled egg thing, we do something called cascarones. It’s a Mexican tradition where you save the egg shells, clean them, dry them, then paint them, fill them with confetti, and cover the hole with tissue paper. Easter Sunday you hide the eggs and then smash them on each other’s head. It’s fun and different, the kids love it. This means that I should’ve been saving egg shells since January, but somehow I always forget and start right before Lent. Then I spend all of Lent trying to figure out what I can cook with all those eggs!

signature

Leave a Reply

