Modern Day Idols

We all have idols. It’s probably not a golden calf or a false god. Now a days, it’s more likely to be money, material goods, power, and other things like that. A couple of weeks ago the Sunday gospel spoke about not having two gods, and during my daily mediation I thought long and hard about my idols.

I realized money is one of them. not money itself, but the desire to have money. Don’t we all wish we could win the lottery, send our kids to the best schools, quit our jobs, and travel the world sipping champagne and eating caviar? That sounds pretty good to me, but thinking that way could sure make your present life seem boring and poor in comparison. We should be thankful….I mean, I am thankful for all the blessings and graces God has given me, but sometimes I can’t help dreaming of a luxurious life.

I also realized my biggest idol is food! I spend a lot of time thinking about food, looking at pictures of food, reading about food, shopping for food, cooking, taking pictures of food, and eating it of course. I guess you could argue it’s my job, at least that’s what I’ve been telling myself.  However, that is no longer true. I once was a professional cook, but now I’m a stay-at-home mom/spanish teacher. Even though I do work on my food blog in my free time, food is really more of a hobby than a job. It seems as though it is time to re-prioritize my life, a little less food and some more time in the park, more reading non-food related books, and more praying. Now I will leave you with some delectable pictures of food from my blog, cause maybe, just maybe you need a little more food in your life:)

Leave a Reply

