Random thoughts I need to share

When I began writing this blog I did it to share my story with whoever wanted to listen.  I was inspired by the book, “Sex, Style, and Substance” by Hallie Lord.  It was my gateway into the blog world and I loved finding blogs that made me feel like there were people in this world that were like me.  For the first time in a long time I didn’t feel alone.  I gained strength to be myself because I wasn’t alone in my journey.  I had no idea how my blog would effect the relationships around me.  It has been a mixed review of high- highs and low-lows.  I spent the summer not writing trying to figure out whether to continue writing or wrap it up and call it a day.  I am not sure I have a clearer idea of what to do, but I will share with you some lessons I have learned.

1.  Social media is a wonderful tool to reach many people and let them know quickly and efficiently what is happening with your life.  However, it CAN NOT replace a relationship with those who are closest to you.  Whether you use facebook, twitter or read blogs it doesn’t replace going out to lunch with your closest girl friends.  Actually, I think it is a hinderance to relationships because if we think we know everything about each others lives, why go out and catch up.   I forgot to tell people around me information I shared on this blog personally and assumed they read my blog (because doesn’t everyone read my blog, oops narcissistic thought!).

2.  My intention of sharing information on this blog has always been to reach out and share myself with others.  It has never been intended to make someone feel less than stellar about themselves and that my life is perfect.  I am sharing one part of my life and there is always another side that isn’t quite shared.  Sometimes I share the good, the bad and the ugly, but not all at the same time.  I just started reading Glennon Melton’s book, “Carry On Warrior: Thoughts On Life Unarmed” (blogs at monastery.com if you have never read) and her eye opening moment was when other women thought her life was so perfect because she was thin and wore designer jeans.  I believe as we all read things posted on the internet we need to read with a grain of salt.  I post pictures of my family on facebook that shows us having fun and I write posts on being happily married for 15 years as we celebrated our anniversary.  Yet, my family has a lot of bad days just like everyone else.  My husband and I fight and there are times when I don’t like him very much.  There are even times when I wonder why we are married.  I may not always share those moments, but they are there and I hope that I don’t give off an air that my life is a perfect fairy tale.

3.  I have learned that I need to share big life decisions with close people first.  No one likes reading about big things second hand on a blog.  That is totally my fault and lesson learned!  I think this is related to #1 because social media and my blog can not be the main way I communicate with those around me.

4.  There is a strange high that comes from writing a post and then watching people click on your site to read it.  I get such a high as people like my post or comment on it.  I am not sure if this is a good thing or bad thing.  It feels nice when people read what I write, like I am the “popular girl” for once.  I have to be careful that this doesn’t drive my writing because then I am writing to feed my ego and not share an my story.

5.  I have to be careful how much time blogging takes me away from my family.  If I had my wish, I would be at the computer everyday reading blogs and writing my own.  The fact is that I can’t!! I have 4 kids and I am homeschooling one.  I need to write, but it has to be in balance with my family.

These are some things I have learned about blogging.  I love writing and sharing my story.  My intent is to share my life for the greater good and not to feed my ego!  I will always be struggling to keep this balance and need to shut it down when I can’t.  Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Random thoughts I need to share

Leave a Reply

