Homeschool Week 1: Seven Quick Takes

I am linking up with Jen at Conversion Diary to bring you my 7 quick takes on my first week of homeschool.

7_quick_takes_sm1

1.  I truly do love having my son home with me everyday.  It is so nice to talk with him everyday and get to be a part of his learning experience.  He is a morning person like myself and now I get to enjoy him during his BEST hours.

2.  I am exhausted after the first week!!  In order for there to peace and harmony in our house, I have been waking up at 4:45 am.  It has given me an hour by myself in the morning to get dressed and pray.  I love the quiet of the morning.  It is nice that when the family starts waking up and I am ready for them.  However, I have been staying up a little late at the end of the day spending quiet time with my husband (also important).  I need to find the right balance!

3.  I am a planner and I planned enough work to keep my son learning all day long!  I have planned meaningful and thoughtful lessons for him to do, but it is A LOT.  I have had to do some rearranging of our planning because one can only maintain critical thinking for so long during a day. He goes really strong from 8 am to 1 pm and then he is really tired.  So this weekend I am going to be tweaking the routine.

4.  My little ones have been great during school time.  I thought the 17 1/2 month old was going to be the problem, but my 3 year old is the one who interrupts.  He wants me to talk to him and not his older brother.  So I try to do a lesson and sit and play with my little ones while the older one completes an assignment.  I know it is just a matter of learning the routine, but it is hard for him.  Yesterday was nice when he went to preschool.  He only went once this week and next week he goes twice, so that will be better.

5.  So far my son’s favorite subject is typing!  I am using typingweb.com.  It is a free typing class online and he loves it.  He is so proud of himself.  He likes the typing because he knows none of his friends are learning typing in school.  Yesterday he was typing up his “report” on our trip to Hawaii and  was so proud of himself because he wasn’t searching for the keys.

6.  I love the afternoon/evenings with my family now that we are homeschooling.  We finish all of our work early and there is no homework!  We have had time to play as a family and enjoy Daddy when he comes home at night.  It is relaxing like it should be.

7.  Homeschooling has been a transition for my son.  I know he misses seeing his friends everyday at school.  He has been wondering if they are having more fun than him.  It helped that one of his friends came over on Tuesday to hang out.  He heard all the stories of middle school and he felt much better about our choice to homeschool.  He is joining Scouts and had so much fun at the meeting this week. Yesterday he went to violin and enjoyed friends there.  We also went to a gathering of the local homeschool group where he played in the park for 3 hours.  I hoping the transition keeps going smoothly.

All in all it was a success and an adventure.  We will get the kinks worked out.  Looking forward to the weekend!  Head on over to Conversion Diary to check out some other quick takes.

One thought on “Homeschool Week 1: Seven Quick Takes

Leave a Reply

