My Baby Turns 12!

On September 2, 2001 I became a Mommy!  After 22 hours of labor, a 8 lb. 1 oz baby boy joined our family and turned my world upside down.  No one can ever prepare you for the moment you become a mom.  You can read all the books ever written, listen to the stories from your mom, sister and friends, but none of it makes sense until after you are holding your child.  Then you can understand the flood of emotions that take over your body. It’s amazing how much you can love someone so much and yet be so overwhelmed with the task at hand. I have experienced becoming a Mommy 4 times now, and it doesn’t get old and the same feelings flood your body each time.  What a miracle!

So 12 years ago this little guy came into the world and I am so blessed and challenged by him each and everyday.

Family Picture

Here he is 12 years later:

Photo on 8-18-13 at 3.06 PM #2

This picture makes me laugh so much because it portrays who is right now.  He is 12!!  Almost a teenager and he is beginning to take on that new persona. He is trying to exert his independence, but will still crawl into bed with me and snuggle up.  I hope he never outgrows the snuggles!! He is super athletic (running, biking, swimming, basketball, football, etc), loves video games (Pokemon, Mindcraft, any iPad app), and of course he is super smart!! He loves and hates his siblings all in the same breath.  As a matter of fact, he loves and hates me too!!  He is my parenting experiment.  I have done plenty of things right and plenty of things wrong with him.  We are learning as we go down this road. I ask you to pray for him this year as we begin homeschool.  It is going to be a big change for all of us.  I also ask you to pray that he may be open to a vocation in the priesthood.  It is hard to put into words what has led me to believe this, but he is special, different.  Those who see him serve at mass notice it.  His love for our Lord is far more than I have ever taught him, it is truely Divine.  So just pray, pray, pray!!

Happy Birthday sweet little boy!!  I love you more than words can imagine.  Thank you for making me a Mommy!  It is a privilege to see you grow up.

Leave a Reply

