The Courage to do God’s Will

P1020453

We’re moving for the fourth time in 5 years! We are headed towards South Carolina in two weeks! My husband got a great job offer, a promotion, that will allow him to spend more time with us. This is good news, but it is bittersweet. For the first time in our marriage we actually have friends, good friends, Catholic friends; Friends we actually look up to, and that our little boy loves dearly. I’m truly heartbroken at the thought of leaving such wonderful and inspiring friends.

More friends

More friends

It also kind of disappointing that I will be leaving my job at the Church. You know that quote that says, that if  you choose a job you love you don’t have to a work a day in your life? That is how I feel about my job. We also love our kid’s school, etc. etc. I could keep going on and on about how we love it here, but what I really want to say is that we have been very happy here.

Like I mentioned, we’ve done this before, so you would think it would get easier. I know we will eventually make new friends, find a great school, and maybe even a job for me. (There are Churches in South Carolina.) However I can’t seem to stop bursting into tears spontaneously.  I know this is the right choice, but it seems like my emotions haven’t caught up with my brain yet.

friends

friends

Someone once told me I should pray for the courage to do God’s will. I thought it very peculiar at the time, because I was praying for a certain outcome to a problem I was having, and praying for courage was not the advice I wanted to hear. Over the years, time and time again, this has become my go to prayer. We don’t know where the road God has planned for us will take us. All we can do is pray for the courage to follow it and trust ” ….that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” (Rm 8:28)

Leave a Reply

